8 Elements of Yoga | Yoga

Elements of Yoga 

Elements of Yoga : The Yoga is a technique which is used ideally to maintain our physical fitness and prevent us from mental illness and to protect the body generally, developing and inevitable sense of relief and assurance.The Universal law for  inextricably associated  for respect for life, truth and patience are all indispensable factors in the drawing of a quiet breath, in calmness of mind and firmness of will.

According to, Ashtang Yoga from Patanjali, Yoga consist of the eight limbs or stages for the quest of soul.

The Basic “Elements of Yoga” are :


  1. Yama (Universal moral commandments)
  2. Niyama (Self purification by discipline)
  3. Asana (Posture)
  4. Pranayama (Rythmic control of the breath)
  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawel and emancipation of the mind from the domination of the senses and exterior objects)
  6. Dharama (concentration)
  7. Dhyana (Meditation)
  8. Samadhi

The First three stages or elements are the outwards quests (bahiranga sadhana). The next two stages, Pranayama and Pratyahara, Teach the aspirant to regulate the breathing and there by control the wind. These two elements of yoga are known as the inner quests (antaratma sadhana).

Dharama, Dhyana and Samadhi take the yogi into the innermost recesses of his soul. The Yogi does not look heaven word to find God. He knows that he is within, being known as Antaratma.

Elements of Yoga
there are 8 “Elements of Yoga” OF yoga
  1. Yama (Ethical disciplines and first “Element of Yoga”) :

    Commandments transcending of Yama are creed, country, age and time. They are :

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)

  • Satya (truth)

  • Asteya (non-stealing)

  • Brahmacharya (continence)

  • Aparigraha (non conventing)

These commandments are the rules of morality for society and the individual, which if not obeyed bring chaos, violence, untruth, stealing, dissipation and covetousness. The roots of these evils are the emotions of greed, desire and attachment, which may be mild, medium or excessive. They bring pain and ignorance. Patanjali strikes at the root of the evils by changing the direction of one’s thinking along the five principles of Yama.

  1. Niyama (Second “Element of Yoga”):

    They are the rules of which are applied on a individual to be in discipline, while yama are universal in their application. The five niyama listed by Patanjali are :

  • Saucha (purity) : Purity of body essential for well-being.

  • Santosa (contentment) : Satisfaction of everything, when there is no desire.

  • Tapas (Ardour) : A burning effort under all circumstances to achieve a definite goal in life.

  • Svadhyaya (study of the self) : To make life healthy, happy and peaceful, it is essential to study regularly holy books in a pure palace.

  • Isvara Pranidhana (dedication of the Lord).


  1. Asana (Third “Element of Yoga”) :

    The third elements of yoga is asana or posture. A steady and pleasant posture produces mental equilibrium and prevents fickleness and mind. Asanas are not gymnastic exercise or any other,basically they are posture. To perform these posture you need a clean airy place, a blanket and determination. We can do asanas alone at home or in the better natural places like gardens and parks, as the limbs of the body provide the necessary weights and counter-weights. Asanas have been evolved over the centuries as to exercise every muscle, nerve and gland in the body. But their real importance lies in the way they train and discipline the mind.


  1. Pranayama(Forth “Element of Yoga”):

    Just as the word yoga is one of wide import, so also in prana. ‘Prana’ means breath, respiration, life, vitality, wind, energy or strength. It also connotes the soul as opposed to the body. The word is generally used in the plural to indicate vital breaths. ‘Ayama’ means length, expansion, stretching or restraint. We can say that it is the extension of breath and  control on the breathing is called Pranayama. This control is over all the functions of breathing, namely.


  • Inhalation or inspiration, which is termed Puraka (filling up)

  • Exhalation or expiration, which is called Rechaka (emptying the lungs).

  • Retention or holding the breath, a state where there is no inhalation or exhalation, which is termed as Kumbhaka.

Parnayama is thus the science of breath.


  1. Pratyahara (Fifth “Element of Yoga”) :

    A person is lost when he or she succumbs to the pull of his senses. On the other hand, if there is rhythmic control of breath, the senses instead of running after external objects of desire turn inwards and man is set free from their tyranny. This stages is called pratyahara, where the senses are brought under control.


  1. Dharna (Sixth “Element of Yoga”):

    When the body of humans is tempered by asanas and the mind has been refined by the fire of pranayama and when the senses have been brought under control by Pratyahara, the sadhaka reaches the sixth stages called dharna. Here he is concentrated wholly on a single point or on a task in which he is completely enfrossed. The mind has to be stilled in order to achieve this state of complete absorption.


The mind is an instrument which classifies, judges and co-ordinates the impression from the outside world and those arise within oneself.


  1. Dhyana (Seventh “Element of Yoga”):

    As water takes the shape of container, the mind when it contemplates an object is transformed into the shape of the object. When the floe of concentration is uninterrupted, the state that arises is dhyana (meditation). As the filament is an electric bulb glows and illuminates when there is regular uninterrupted current of electricity. The universal spirit contemplation and integrated of the objects like body, breath, senses, mind, reason and ego. He remains in a state of consciousness which has no qualification whatsoever. A state of SUPREME BLISS Like a streak of lightning light that shines beyond the earth and the heavens only yogi can see it except this there is no feeling. He sees the light that shines in his own heart. He becomes a light unto himself and others.


  1. Samadhi (Eighth “Element of Yoga”) :

    Samadhi is the end of sadhaka’s quest. At the peak of his meditation, he passes into the state of Samadhi, where his body and senses are at rest as if he is asleep, faculties of mind and reason are alert as if he is awake, yet he has gone beyond consciousness. The person in a state of Samadhi is fully conscious and alert.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *